top of page

Vegan Copycat Thin Mint Cookies

I have to come clean... the only reason I enjoyed being in girl scouts was for the cookies.


Who's with me?! HUZZAH!


But in total honesty, did anyone actually like going door to door for sales? I sure as hell didn't, but getting my parents to order a few boxes was totes worth it.


My mom's favorite was thin mints. I kid you not she would hide them from everyone in random places around the house so that no one would eat them.


A real cookie champ there.


So I decided to make my own version, which is SO easy and damn good.


This easy copycat Girl Scouts Thin Mints recipe is crisp mint chocolate cookies dipped in dark chocolate. This quick, homemade cookie recipe is vegan and there is a gluten-free option!


copycat thin mints recipe vegan gluten free easy

Tips & Tricks for these Vegan Thin Mint Cookies:

This homemade thin mints recipe is surprisingly super easy and quick to make!

  1. Make the chocolate peppermint cookies: The cookies are like a chocolate peppermint shortbread. These cookies can be made as thick or as thin as you would like. If you want them more crips, you can either roll them very thin about 1/8th inch thick or bake them slightly longer (just a few minutes!) to make them crisp. I prefer the cookies to be thicker and softer so this recipe will yield that result. All you have to do is roll the cookies out, cut out a circle and bake!

  2. Get dippin': There are two options that you can do for this part. You can either dip the cookies in melted chocolate OR you can mix together a glaze consisting of water, powdered sugar, and cocoa powder.

  3. Dip the cookies in dark chocolate: I like to use a fork to dip the cookies in chocolate so that you scrape off the excess on the bottom and easily transfer to a wire rack or to wax paper!

  4. Eat those suckers! Nuff said.


If you don't want to eat them all at once, you can freeze them for up to 1-2 months.


P.S. If you want to make it Gluten-Free, just substitute out the all-purpose white flour with a gluten-free all-purpose flour blend!

copycat thin mints recipe vegan gluten free easy

Looking for other amazing vegan dessert recipes? I gotchu.

If you try out this recipe make sure to let me know! Leave a comment, rate it, and don’t forget to tag a photo #underthewillow on Instagram or Facebook.


copycat thin mints recipe vegan gluten free easy

Want to save this recipe for later? Pin it on Pinterest!


copycat thin mints recipe vegan gluten free easy

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page